DHARAMSHALA: As per the resolution passed during the 1st session of the 16th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile, a committee composed of one Kalon, three members of the parliament and the chief Election Commissioner has been appointed by the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Tibetan parliament to compile recommendations to initiate reforms in the Tibetan electoral process.

As mandated by the Tibetan parliamentary resolution, the committee is comprised of Kalon Mr Karma Yeshi, Election Commissioner Mr Sonam Choephel Shosur, Tibetan Parliamentarians Mr Pema Jungney, Ven Monlam Tharchin and Mr Gyarik Thar. Kalon Karma Yeshi and Ven Monlam Tharchin has been appointed as the chairman and secretary of the new committee respectively.

The committee has begun its functions and met with Speaker Khenpo Sonam Tenphel and Deputy Speaker Acharya Yeshi Phuntsok on Monday, 20 June to seek the Tibetan parliament’s guidance and recommendations.

The parliamentary resolution to initiate reforms in the Tibetan electoral process was proposed by Sikyong Dr Lobsang Sangay and Kalon Ven Karma Gelek Yuthok during the 1st session of the 16th Tibetan Parliament. Keeping in view the strong opinions and suggestions from the Tibetan public regarding the incidents that took place during the last election campaign, the resolution to initiate electoral reforms particularly with regard to the election duration, was unanimously passed by the parliament.